About Me – Nov. 01, 2016

This website is not about me, Andrew Blair, though I created it, and am moderating it. I don’t want to say much about me. But I know that people like to have some impression of the person creating a site, so I’ll say a few things.

I have retired from paid work, aged 69 as of writing this. Fortunately I’m in good health. On most days I go running for 20-30 minutes. I’m a near-vegan, for ethical reasons. I have a wife, and a son aged 20.

I’ve lived in various places in Canada: Calgary, Resolute (Nunavut), Toronto, London (Ontario), Crowsnest Pass, Victoria, Barrhead (Alberta), Lethbridge, and a few other places for short periods of time. I also travelled for a year in Europe in the 70s.

I have spent a lot of time in university environments, about 13 years as a student, and about 10 as a sessional instructor. I don’t think it particularly relevant that I have 4 degrees, but I’m telling you because some people want to know: a B.Sc. in Math/Physics, a B.Ed., an M.A. in Philosophy, and a Ph.D. in Education Theory. I also have a certificate in the application and management of information technology. I say it’s not particularly relevant because most of my learning has been independent of formal education, and I’m interested in a whole lot of things.

The last 15 years of my working career were spent as a database programmer for a distance education school.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s